Geschke Lecture Series

Each summer, the Atheneum presents a diverse roster of speakers who address the issues of the day as part of our Geschke Lecture Series. Tickets will be on sale beginning July and are available at the library or on the website.

2015 Geschke Lecture Series

Susan Glasser
July 29    8 p.m.
Unitarian Church
Admission: $25, $20 for students

Susan Glasser is the Editor of POLITICO. She was also the founding editor of POLITICO Magazine, the award-winning publication featuring both long-form reporting and opinion journalism.

She has also served as editor-in-chief of the Foreign Policyand was a foreign correspondent, editor and political reporter for theWashington Post.

Ajay Royan
August 3    8 p.m.
Great Harbor Yacht Club
Admission: $25, $20 for students

Ajay Royan cofounded Mithril Capital Management  with Peter Thiel and is the firm’s managing general partner. Royan has also cofounded Breakout Labs, a nonprofit fund that invests in unconventional inventors and scientists advancing radical ideas.

He frequently speaks on technology investing at technology and finance conferences, as well as public forums such as Bloomberg, CNBC, the Financial Times, and The Wall Street Journal.

Roz Chast
August 12    8 p.m.
Unitarian Meeting House
Admission: $25, $20 for students

Roz Chast ‘s cartoons have been published in The New Yorker, Scientific American, the Harvard Business Review, Redbook, and Mother Jones. Her books include a comprehensive compilation of her favorite cartoons called Theories of Everything: Selected, Collected, and Health-Inspected Cartoons of Roz Chast, 1978-2006 and the award winning 2014 book Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant?

Dr. Rudolph Tanzi
Aug. 17    8 p.m.
Great Harbor Yacht Club
Admission: $25, $20 for students

Dr. Rudolph Tanzi, Professor of Neurology at Harvard University and Director of the Genetics and Aging Research Unit at Massachusetts General Hospital, gives a talk titled ‘Ending Alzheimer’s Disease by 2025.’

His work has primarily focused on studying Alzheimer’s Disease, but he has also helped identify the gene responsible for the neurological disorder known as Wilson’s disease and has collaborated on studies identifying several other disease genes including those causing Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis and Autism.

Previous Geschke Lecture Series have included:

  • 2014: Dr. Walter Willett, Harvard University nutritionist; Esther Dyson,chairman of EDventure Holdings andfounder of HICcup; Joe Klein, author and TIME Magazine columnist; And, Peter Baker, New York Times White House correspondent. (view 2014 lectures)
  • 2013: David Owen, a New Yorker author ; John Donoghue, a Brown University neuroscientist ); Harvard University astronomer Dr. Robert Kirshner ; Maureen Orth, Vanity Fair special correspondent, and Chuck Todd, Chief White House Correspondent for NBC News; and United Nations prosecutor Richard Goldstone. (view 2013 lectures)
  • 2012: Jill Abramson, Executive Editor of the New York Times; Lawrence Lessig, Harvard University Ethics professor and author of Republic, Lost: How Money Corrupts Congress; Panel Discussion on the Economy, moderated by David Gregory, NBC News with Jack Welch, General Electric, Louis V Gerstner, Jr., IBM and Bob Wright, NBC; And, Louis Susman, United States Ambassador to the Court of St. James.
  • 2011:Ian Frazier, author and New Yorker staff writer; David Gregory NBC moderator of “Meet The Press”; Richard N. Haass, president of the Council on Foreign Relations and author of 11 books; And, Joseph Nye, Jr., Dean Emeritus of the Kennedy School, Harvard University
  • 2010: Computer technology innovators Chuck Geschke (Adobe) and Bob Metcalfe (3Com); New York Times Columnist and Author Thomas Friedman; Washington Post Columnist and MSNBC Commentator Eugene Robinson; and President of Pew Research Center Andrew Kohut
  • 2009: Pulitzer-Prize-winning biographer Doris Kearns Goodwin; Presidential Advisor David Gergen; CBS News journalist Lesley Stahl; and Carnegie Corporation President Vartan Gregorian.
  • 2008: Print and television journalist Mike Barnicle; former Delaware Governor Pete du Pont; NPR journalist Mara Liasson; Washington Post journalist Robin Wright; PBS journalist Gwen Ifill.
  • 2007: Committee for Economic Development, Charles Kolb; MIT President Dr. Susan Hockfield; Natural Resources Defense Council, Frances Beinecke; Presidential Advisor David Gergen; Project HOPE Dr. John Howe III; Business Week columnists Jack and Suzy Welch.
  • 2006: National Review journalist Jay Nordlinger; NPR President Kevin Klose; New York Times editor Jill Abramson; Jay Rosen of New York University; CBS News journalist Katie Couric; CBS News anchor Lesley Stahl; NBC News anchor Tim Russert; PBS television host David Brancaccio; Wall Street Journal journalist Daniel Henninger; Concord Monitor photographer Daniel Habib.
  • 2005: Authors Patricia Ebrey, Nancy Berliner, Jerome Silbergeld, Andrea and Lynde McCormick, Neil Baldwin, David McCullough, Joseph S. Nye, Jr., Father Robert Drinan, and U.S. Senator Bill Frist.